Wattles of the Mount Alexander Region

By Bernard Slattery, Ern Perkins and Bronwyn Silver

Acacia, known in Australia as wattle, is the largest genus of plants in the country — nearly 1000 species! Its brilliant flowers transform winter and spring landscapes. Our sporting teams wear its green and gold colours. Sprigs of wattle flowers adorn our patriotic events. The Golden Wattle is our national floral emblem… 

But how many wattle species can the average citizen name and recognise?

This new 112 page guide, Wattles of the Mount Alexander Region, helps the beginner to make a start. In plain language, and generously illustrated, it presents twenty one species which flourish in the Mount Alexander region of central Victoria. And a general introduction explains different features of wattles, helping in identification and appreciation of these tenacious and beautiful plants.

The book is published by Friends of the Box-Ironbark Forests in association with Castlemaine Field Naturalists Club and Connecting Country. The authors are Bernard Slattery, Ern Perkins and Bronwyn Silver.

Golden Wattle (Acacia pycnantha) sample pages

Recommended Retail Price: $15.00 plus $3 postage and handling ($18)

You can pay by cheque, bank transfer or through PayPal.

click here to download an order form to pay by cheque or bank transfer


use the PayPal form below

Buyer location